Rotton Park Action Group AGM

After chairing a full day evidence gathering session of the Health and Adults O & S Committee today (our review into delayed discharges) I was fully intending to go to the Rotton Park AGM tonight. Unfortunately I never made it.

Last night (when I was watching the brilliant ballet Romeo and Juliet at the Hippodrome) some of Birmingham’s roads were closed because a red deer stag was on the loose (yes, honestly!). Tonight the whole city centre was in lock down because of a police incident at Paradise Circus. I won’t go into details – local people will know what it was about.

Suffice to say it was all happening not far from the Council House gatehouse.  At first I wasn’t allowed out of the Council House courtyard car park at all. Eventually I was allowed out – but was directed to leave by going across Victoria Square and down New Street (which is all pedestrianised).

When I eventually did get back on to a proper road, it took me an hour to get home because (with Paradise Circus closed off by police road blocks) the rest of the city was gridlocked.

Fortunately my ward colleague Cllr James Hutchings was able to attend the Rotton Park Action Group AGM on behalf of the Edgbaston Ward Councillors.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.