Lady Thatcher – The Edgbaston Connection

Like many people, I was very sad to hear of the death of Lady Margaret Thatcher on Monday. She was a strong Prime Minister, well respected throughout the world, and I send my condolences to her family.

I was interested to read in yesterday’s Daily Telegraph of the pivotal role which Edgbaston played in her becoming Leader of the Conservative Party – and I don’t just mean because Edgbaston’s then MP Jill Knight nominated her for the position.

Keith Joseph had apparently been expected to stand for the right wing of the Conservative party in any leadership election against Ted Heath, but according to the Telegraph, comments he made in a speech delivered in Edgbaston on Saturday October 19th 1974 (I am guessing the annual dinner?) resulted in wide criticism.

This apparently in turn led to him going to Margaret Thatcher a month later and telling her that he couldn’t run for the leadership. She apparently replied that if he didn’t run, she would – and the rest, as they say, is history.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.