Harborne Lane Update

001.JPGAt the weekend I met up with Mayoral candidate Andy Street at the site of the sink hole in Harborne Lane.

A lot of damage was created when the main water main burst in November, and there is some frustration now amongst local people that the road has still not been repaired.

At Full Council today I received an update on the situation (in the form of an answer to my written question). After weeks of investigation work, I was told Severn Trent have confirmed that work to actually repair the pipe has now begun. They currently estimate this will be completed by mid-February.

Once the pipe is repaired, work will begin to reinstate the road surface and structure, and re-open Harborne Lane. I am told this is not expected to be before the end of February (and another Councillor informs me that he has been told early March).

Meanwhile traffic is being diverted through the QE Hospital site in Edgbaston causing a lot of extra congestion there.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.